The Time for a New Year is Nigh.

amanda-self-portrait-for-inktober-edited
An Inktober drawing I did that accurately represents how I look most days: Trying to think of material, and staring at blank paper.  It’s the best job I’ve ever had.

I hope you all had a good 2016.  I feel like social media has made it clear that no one did, but I don’t really believe that to be true.  If you base your fortune upon how many famous people died, and whether or not your candidate got elected, you’ll never have a good year.

I had the good fortune of getting the job I’ve always wanted this year.  Let me rephrase that:  I had the good fortune to still do the same thing I’ve been doing all along, but now being able to say that I am employed and featured alongside the same comics I read growing up and was inspired by.  It’s amazing what one can accomplish when one actually does things and works at it.  (That is my way of saying that I squandered a lot of years not drawing comics and would sit around wondering why no one was discovering me.  DOYEE.)

I don’t want to waste my opportunity.  I am trying my very best to not be me and fritter away time.  It’s hard for me to not be me.  Ask me about it sometime.

With that said, I hope your 2017 is full of merriment, good cheer, and jocularity – which is three words that mean the same thing.  But I really do mean it.  Have a good year.  Even if shitty things happen (they will), and even if you don’t feel like it (you might not).

And don’t take advice from cartoonists.  What do they know?

Leave a comment